Top 100 Baseball Blog

Friday, October 27, 2017

Brooklyn Cyclones Win Larry MacPhail Award For Top Promotional Effort

ST. PETERSBURG, Florida — Minor League Baseball announced today that the Brooklyn Cyclones of the Short Season Class-A New York-Penn League are the recipients of the 52nd annual Larry MacPhail Award, symbolizing the top promotional effort in Minor League Baseball.

The award has been presented since 1966 and is named after Hall of Famer Leland Stanford “Larry” MacPhail, Sr., who introduced innovations such as night baseball, airplane travel, pension plans and batting helmets. The Cyclones will receive their award at the Baseball Winter Meetings Banquet on Sunday, Dec. 10, at the Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Florida. The Cyclones are just the second New York-Penn League team to win the award, joining the Lowell Spinners (2000).

“On behalf of the entire Brooklyn Cyclones organization, we would like to thank Minor League Baseball for this prestigious honor,” said Cyclones Vice President Steve Cohen. “Our industry is filled with some of the most innovative and creative minds in the world, so to be singled out from the field of so many worthy nominees is truly humbling.”

The Cyclones’ combination of unique giveaways, theme nights, community programs and television/social media commercials led them to become the first Short Season franchise in history to draw over 200,000 fans for 16 consecutive years and they have led the New York-Penn League in attendance for the last 17 seasons. The Cyclones claimed Minor League Baseball Promotion of the Year honors in 2014 and 2015, and were nominated for a Golden Bobblehead Award (MiLB’s top promotional honor) in three separate categories in 2017. Since 2014, their 14 Golden Bobblehead Award nominations are more than any other team in Minor League Baseball.

“We are constantly challenging ourselves as a staff to make MCU Park even more fun and entertaining for our fans,” said Cyclones General Manager Kevin Mahoney. “This honor shows all of us that our dedication and attention to detail truly pays off. We are very fortunate to have an incredibly talented front office staff that truly embodies the hard work, loyalty and passion that is synonymous with the people of Brooklyn.”

“Year after year, the Brooklyn Cyclones host some of the most creative, entertaining and memorable promotional events in all of Minor League Baseball, events that are appealing to fans of all ages, both locally and across the country,” said Minor League Baseball President & CEO Pat O’Conner. 

“That the Cyclones have been nominated for more promotional awards than any other club over the last four seasons is a testament to their incredibly creative and talented staff, and their use of MCU Park for community and charitable events has been exemplary. On behalf of Minor League Baseball, I commend them on a job well done, not only for themselves, but also for the New York-Penn League and Minor League Baseball as a whole.”


1966 Spartanburg, Western Carolinas
1967 Rochester, International
1968 Cocoa, Florida State
1969 Hawaii, Pacific Coast
1970 Wichita, American Association/
Hawaii, PCL (Tie)
1971 Oklahoma City, American Assoc.
1972 San Antonio, Texas
1973 Tucson, Pacific Coast
1974 West Palm Beach, Florida State
1975 Tacoma, Pacific Coast
1976 El Paso, Texas/
Cedar Rapids, Midwest (tie)
1977 Columbus, OH, International
1978 Nashville, Southern
1979 Columbus, OH, International
1980 Nashville, Southern
1981 Nashville, Southern
1982 El Paso, Texas
1983 Arkansas, Texas
1984 Columbus, OH, International/
Billings, Pioneer (Tie)
1985 Richmond, International
1986 Iowa, American Association
1987 Albuquerque, Pacific Coast
1988 Birmingham, Southern
1989 Buffalo, American Association
1990 Richmond, International
1991 Salt Lake City, Pioneer
1992 Ft. Myers, Florida State
1993 El Paso, Texas
1994 Reading, Eastern
1995 Kane County, Midwest
1996 Wilmington, Carolina
1997 Rochester, International
1998 Charleston (SC), South Atlantic
1999 Reading, Eastern
2000 Lowell, New York-Penn
2001 Tennessee, Southern
2002 Lakewood, South Atlantic
2003 Trenton, Eastern
2004 Altoona, Eastern
2005 Brevard County, Florida State
2006 Round Rock, Pacific Coast
2007 West Michigan, Midwest
2008 Ogden, Pioneer
2009 Chattanooga, Southern
2010 New Hampshire, Eastern
2011 Lake Elsinore, California
2012 Wisconsin, Midwest
2013 Charleston, South Atlantic
2014 San Jose, California
2015 Akron, Eastern
2016 Midland, Texas

You can check me out on Facebook or follow me on Twitter @historianandrew

No comments:

Post a Comment