Top 100 Baseball Blog

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Dave Elmore Named King of Baseball

For Immediate Release                                                                 November 17, 2016 

Dave Elmore Named King of Baseball 

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. — Minor League Baseball announced today that David G. Elmore, owner and founder of Elmore Sports Group, has been named the 2016 King of Baseball. The King of Baseball is a long-standing tradition in which Minor League Baseball recognizes a veteran of professional baseball for longtime dedication and service. Elmore will receive the King of Baseball Award at the Baseball Winter Meetings Banquet on Sunday, Dec. 4, at Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland. 

“This is a truly amazing honor to be named the King of Baseball,” said Elmore. “There is nothing I have enjoyed more than being a part of Minor League Baseball for these past 36 years and realizing the great good our teams do to bring our communities together and provide countless charitable benefits.” 

“Dave Elmore has had a long and illustrious career as a Minor League Baseball owner and operator, and he has served Minor League Baseball in a number of roles over the years,” said Minor League Baseball President & CEO Pat O’Conner. “He has truly earned this honor through all of his hard work and tireless efforts for the betterment of the game and it is my pleasure to present him with this award.” 

Elmore founded the Elmore Sports Group in 1969, which now consists of six Minor League Baseball teams, including the Colorado Springs Sky Sox, San Antonio Missions, Inland Empire 66ers, Lynchburg Hillcats, Idaho Fall Chukars and Eugene Emeralds. The company also owns hockey and soccer teams, along with facility management, travel, hospitality, special events and concession companies. 

Elmore has served on the Joint Professional Baseball Agreement Committee, which consists of four Minor League Baseball team owners and four Major League Baseball team owners. Together, they work to identify and address issues that arise between both leagues while discussing possible amendments to the Professional Baseball Agreement. 

Elmore was inducted to the Pacific Coast League Hall of Fame and the Texas League Hall of Fame for his contributions as an owner. He is also the Pioneer League representative for the Minor League Baseball Board of Trustees. 

Prior to joining the sports and entertainment industry, Elmore was a partner with a law firm in Chicago from 1958 to 1968. In addition, the White House appointed him to the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board in the Department of Commerce in 1983. Elmore was a member of the Young Presidents Organization from 1969 to 1984, and he served as president of the International Fraternity of Phi Gamma Delta, which consists of more than 85,000 members. 

PREVIOUS KING OF BASEBALL AWARD WINNERS 1951 Clarence Rowland 1952 J. Alvin Gardner 1953 Frank Shaughnessy 1954 Shelby Pease 1955 Herman White 1956 Tommy Richardson 1957 Charles Hurth 1958 Not awarded 1959 Bonneau Peters 1960 Joe Engel 1961 Rosy Ryan 1962 Phil Howser 1963 Donnie Bush 1964 Eddie Mulligan 1965 Ray Winder 1966 Eddie Leishmann 1967 Alejo Peralta 1968 Dewey Soriano 1969 Chauncey DeVault 1970 George MacDonald 1971 Phil Piton 1972 Vince McNamara 1973 Ray Johnston 1974 Fred Haney 1975 Joe Buzas 1976 Don Avery 1977 Bill Weiss 1978 Zinn Beck 1979 Harry Simmons 1980 Billy Hitchcock 1981 Jack Schwarz 1982 Sy Berger 1983 Oscar Roettger 1984 Donald Davidson 1985 Stan Wasiak 1986 Lefty Gomez 1987 Bill Schweppe 1988 Max Patkin 1989 George Sisler, Jr. 1990 John Moss 1991 George Pfister 1992 John Lipon 1993 George Kissell 1994 Jimmy Bragan 1995 Gene DaCosse 1996 S. “Chief” Bender 1997 Max Schumacher 1998 Leo Pinckney 1999 Tom Saffell 2000 Pat McKernan 2001 Roland Hemond 2002 George Zuraw 2003 Bob Wilson 2004 Dave Rosenfield 2005 Calvin Falwell 2006 Paul Snyder 2007 Dave Walker 2008 Pat Gillick 2009 Milo Hamilton 2010 Don Mincher 2011 Chito Rodriguez 2012 George McGonagle 2013 Charlie Eshbach 2014 Bill Valentine 2015 William Gladstone

You can check me out on Facebook or follow me on Twitter @historianandrew

No comments:

Post a Comment